NHS England has established 10 Haemoglobinopathy Coordinating Centres (HCCs) across England to form networks of care to ensure that every child and adult with a haemoglobinopathy has access to expert clinical management. These HCCs are responsible for ensuring that all patients in the network have annual reviews of care, that transcranial Doppler scans are performed and interpreted appropriately, and that expert acute medical care is available locally. The creation of HCCs should standardise care across the country and allow collection of data to ensure that this is happening.

King’s College, Guy’s and St Thomas’ and the Evelina Children’s Hospitals successfully applied to host the HCC for our south east region. This HCC will largely duplicate the South Thames Sickle Cell and Thalassaemia Network (STSTN), with some slight geographical changes. Most notably, St George’s Hospital, which was part of the STSTN will now host the HCC for its own network. We expect that the STSTN will largely continue to function as before although we now have funding for another network manager, a data manager and time to facilitate the organisation of educational events for patients, nurses, doctors and other health care professionals. It should also be possible to offer more support to hospitals in the network, with the network and data managers visiting hospitals across the region regularly, to help with data collection and entry, particularly on to the National Haemoglobinopathy Registry. The exact details are not clear yet, but ultimately it should lead to better patient care. We plan to call our HCC the South East London and South East Haemoglobinopathies Co-ordinating Centre.

A National Haemoglobinopathy Panel (NHP) was also created, to provide expert, multidisciplinary advice on difficult decisions about the management of patients with sickle cell disease, thalassaemia and some other rare anaemias. KCH, GSTT and the Evelina were also appointed to jointly host this panel, which will work closely with the STSTN and other HCCs across England.

For more info please visit: https://www.nationalhaempanel-nhs.net/

The following hospitals and trusts are part of the reconfigured STSTN:

Brighton and Sussex University Hospital NHS Trusts

Princess Royal Hospital, Royal Sussex County Hospital

Royal Alexandra Children’s Hospital

Croydon Health Services NHS Trust

Croydon University Hospital

Dartford and Gravesham NHS Trust

Darent Valley Hospital

East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust

Kent and Canterbury Hospital

William Harvey Hospital Ashford

Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother Hospital, Margate

East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust

Eastbourne District General

Conquest Hospital

Guy’s and St Thomas’ Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Guy’s Hospital

St Thomas’ Hospital

Evelina Children’s Hospital

King’s College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

King’s College Hospital

Princess Royal University Hospital

Lewisham and Greenwich Hospital Trust

University Hospital Lewisham

Queen Elizabeth Hospital Greenwich

Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust

Maidstone Hospital

Tunbridge Wells Hospital

Medway NHS Foundation Trust

Medway Maritime Hospital

Surrey and Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust

East Surrey Hospital, Redhill

Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

St Richard’s Hospital Chichester

Worthing Hospital

For more info please visit: https://www.nationalhaempanel-nhs.net/